LAFF Interview #13: Maggie Maye

Wake up, Maggie, I think your interview is online! (groan) Forgive the tired Rod Stewart reference. Maggie is a star on Austin’s constellation of stand-up comics. She has also been known to do a little improv. She is funny the way burritos are delicious.

LAFF: What first led you to the world of stand-up?

I’ve always loved making people laugh. Throughout my life, people have always told me that I should try stand up. When I was a kid I loved cracking up my friends and putting on little sketch shows for them. As an adult, when I got bored at work, I would go to one of my boss’s offices and make up jokes for her and my other coworkers. They even looked up local open mics for me to try. A couple of years later, after writing jokes on napkins and envelopes and finally deciding to do something with them, I gave my first open mic a go. I’ve been in love ever since.

LAFF: Where is the first place you take out-of-towners visiting Austin?

Probably to show people what real barbecue or Mexican food is all about. I like to show people how their local cuisine is inferior to queso.

LAFF: Who is your comedy hero?

I’m a huge fan of Dave Chappelle’s. He’s an amazing writer and is really smart without alienating people for it. I also loved Whoopi Goldberg growing up. She is a big reason why I wanted to be a comic in the first place.

Maggie Maye performs Saturday night at 9pm.

Leave a Reply

